Acklam Grange School Recruitment | Governors
page,page-id-4400,page-template-default,ajax_leftright,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-3.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12.1,vc_responsive


Mr J B D Taylor – Chairman of Governors


Mr Taylor was born in Scotland and educated in Middlesbrough, where he qualified with his certificate of education in 1969. He has been involved in education in Middlesbrough for over 40 years as a teacher and governor.   Married for 43 years, he has two daughters and enjoys sport (especially cricket) and time spent with his family.


Working with staff and students on a regular basis, our governors are an integral part of the Acklam Grange School family and care deeply about the success of every individual student.

School governors are volunteers collectively known as the Governing Body. The branches of our school community are represented amongst the Governing Body:

  •  Community governors
  • Parent governors
  • Local Authority governors
  • School staff governors


Their main duties and responsibilities are to support the school by providing direction, challenge and accountability, supporting raising achievement for all students.


Our school governors are involved in school life in many different ways including:

  •  Teaching and learning
  • Staffing and safer recruitment
  • Raising achievement
  • Safeguarding
  • Continuous professional development
  • Inclusion, progression and personalised learning
  • Specialist provision
  • Community
  • Facilities management
  • Curriculum

Governor Links

Chair of Governors

Mr Jeff Taylor – Achievement & Progress (Science), SMSC

Vice Chair of Governors

Mr Chris Jones – Achievement & Progress (Boys, Maths, Science)

LA Governor

Councillor Mrs Janice Brunton – Leadership & Management


Cllr Jean Sharrocks – SMSC

Mrs Emily Davies -Achievement & Progress (Boys)

Mrs Jane Darbyshire – N/A

Mr Phil Hudson – Achievement & Progress (Boys), Behaviour & Safety

Mrs Anne Wright – Achievement & Progress (Pupil Premium, MFL, SEN/LAC), Teaching & Learning

Mrs Linda Green – Achievement & Progress (MFL, SEN/LAC), Teaching & Learning

Mrs Ann Train – Behaviour & Safety, SMSC

Mrs Sarah Lymer – Achievement & Progress (Pupil Premium)

Mrs Tazeem Latif – N/A

Parent Governor

Mrs Carolyn Armitage – Achievement & Progress (More Able), Behaviour & Safety

Mr Majaid Hussain – Achievement & Progress (Maths), Leadership & Management

Staff Governor

Mr Martin Burnett – Achievement & Progress (More Able)